The Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA) reminds members of the public to stay alert to suspected fraudulent calls purporting to be made by the Communications Authority (CA) or OFCA.

From time to time, OFCA receives reports from members of the public on various kinds of suspected fraudulent calls purporting to be made by the CA or OFCA. The contents of these calls may in general consist of the following elements:

Notwithstanding the contents of the calls, we wish to stress that the CA and OFCA have never made and will not make such phone calls. In addition, members of the public should beware of calling numbers with a "+" sign as a prefix displayed on mobile phones, which indicates that the calls originate from outside Hong Kong even though the calling numbers may be masqueraded as Hong Kong phone numbers.

We also urge members of the public to stay alert and report any suspected fraudulent calls to the Police, irrespective of whether a "+" sign is displayed as a prefix to the calling numbers. If they have any questions regarding the status of their telecommunications services, they should contact their telecommunications operators for details direct. Under no circumstances should they disclose their personal information in answering the calls.

通讯事务管理局办公室(通讯办)呼籲市民提高警觉,慎防声称由通讯办打出的怀疑欺诈电话。

通讯办近期接获市民举报,表示收到声称由通讯办打出的怀疑欺诈电话。根据收到这些电话的市民所述,该等来电均播放以广东话或普通话预录的讯息,指称接电者的电话服务因有欠款而将被停止,部分来电更将接电话的市民转驳至其他人士以作进一步对话。

我们特此声明通讯办从未亦不会打出这一类电话。此外,尽管来电号码可能假冒为香港的电话号码,但市民应注意,流动电话所显示的来电号码的前方如带有「+」号,即表示有关电话源自香港境外。

我们促请市民提高警觉,如收到任何怀疑欺诈电话,不论来电号码的前方是否带有「+」号,请向警方举报。市民如对其电话服务的使用情况有任何问题,应直接联络有关的电讯营办商查询详情。在任何情况下,市民都不应在电话对话中披露个人资料。

其他消费者注意事项