General

  1. This web site provides general information to parties who are interested in bringing new submarine cables to Hong Kong and covers the following major areas:
  2. The Office of the Communications Authority ("OFCA") provides a single-point-of-contact service to assist parties who are interested in obtaining statutory approvals for laying submarine cables and landing them at an existing CLS, or to build a new CLS. They are welcome to contact the subject officer whose contact is given below:

    Office of the Communications Authority
    29/F, Wu Chung House
    213, Queen's Road East
    Wanchai
    Hong Kong
    (Attn.: Senior Telecommunications Engineer, Regulatory Section 12)

    Telephone Telephone : (852) 2961 6683
    Fax Fax : (852) 2591 0316
    Email Email :

    Background Information

  3. Since the liberalization of external facilities-based telecommunications market on 1 January 2000, Hong Kong has been adopting an open licensing regime i.e. there is no limit on the number of external fixed licences that the Communications Authority (“CA”) will issue. Moreover, Hong Kong does not impose any foreign ownership restriction on the licensees.
  4. As at November 2016, Hong Kong has ten submarine cable systems, namely, Asia-America Gateway Cable System ("AAG"), Asia Pacific Cable Network 2 ("APCN-2"), Asia Pacific Gateway (“APG”), Asia Submarine-Cable Express ("ASE"), EAC - C2C, FLAG Europe Asia ("FEA"), FLAG North Asia Loop ("FNAL") / REACH North Asia Loop ("RNAL"), Sea-Me-We 3 ("SMW3"), South-East Asia Japan Cable System ("SJC") and TGN-Intra Asia Cable System ("TGN-IA"). Several other systems are being planned.
  5. There are eight submarine CLS in Hong Kong (please see the Map below). Two CLS are at Tong Fuk, three are at Tseung Kwan O and the other three are at Deep Water Bay, Chung Hom Kok and Cape D'Aguilar.

    Locations of Cable Landing Stations

    Locations of Cable Landing Stations

                                                                            Legend of Cable Landing Stations
  6. For provision of cable-based external fixed service (see remark 1), an interested party is required to obtain a UCL (External) from the CA. Details on how to apply for such a licence is given in the "Information Note on Licensing Arrangement for External Cable Operators". Apart from leasing capacity on existing submarine cables for provision of service, a holder of UCL (External) (the "Operator") may also choose to land their own cables in Hong Kong, either by using an existing CLS or building a new CLS. The contact information of the existing CLS operators is as follows:
    China Mobile International Limited
    Address : Level 30, Tower 1, Kowloon Commerce Centre
    51 Kwai Cheong Road, Kwai Chung, New Territories, Hong Kong
    Telephone : (852) 3975 6790
    Fax : (852) 3188 1651
    Email :
    Website : www.cmi.chinamobile.com
    FLAG Telecom Asia Limited
    Address : Suite 3901-02, 39/F, Lippo Centre, Tower Two
    89 Queensway, Hong Kong
    Telephone : (852) 2848 0051
    Fax : (852) 2848 0081
    Email :
    Website : www.globalcloudxchange.com
    GB21 (Hong Kong) Limited                        
    Address : Rural Building Lot 1154, Teleport,
    Chung Hom Kok, Hong Kong
    Telephone : (65) 6838 3712
    Fax : (65) 6738 5549
    Email :
    NTT Com Asia Limited                       
    Address : 6 Chun Kwong Street, Tseung Kwan O Industrial Estate,
    New Territories, Hong Kong
    Telephone : (852) 3793 0149
    Fax : (852) 2918 0800
    Email :
    Website : www.hk.ntt.com
    Pacnet Global (HK) Limited                                               
    Address : Pacnet Singapore, 10 Eunos Road 8,
    #08-01 Singapore Post Centre, Singapore 408600
    Telephone : (65) 6591 9839
    Fax : (65) 6591 9893
    Email :
    Website : www.pacnet.com
    Reach Networks Hong Kong Limited and Reach Cable Networks Limited
    Address : 6/F, Hermes House, 10 Middle Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong
    Telephone : (852) 2809 0288
    Fax : (852) 2962 5683
    Email :
    Website : www.reach.com
  7. Operators may have the operational requirement to construct a ring network interconnecting two or more CLS, or to connect a CLS with a data centre located elsewhere. To connect the various locations concerned, there is a need for the Operators to install and lay cables in the public streets and over public land. They may procure the service from Unified Carrier Licensees and Fixed Carrier Licensees who are authorized to provide local fixed services. Alternatively, the Operators may consider applying to the CA for self-provisioning of their own backhaul facilities. As the name implies, self-provisioned backhaul facilities are not to be used by any third party.
  8. Relevant information concerning application for UCL (External), sharing of CLS, and the statutory approvals required for laying submarine cables and landing them at CLS is provided below.

    Application Procedures and Requirements for UCL (External)

  9. The "Information Note on Licensing Arrangement for External Cable Operators" is to assist interested parties in filing applications for the UCL (External). The Note outlines the application procedures, application requirements, broad licensing criteria and other information relevant to the application. There is no limit on the number of licences to be issued, or applications that the CA may process each year. The applications will be considered as and when they are received.
  10. While there is no prescribed format for the applications, they should be submitted under confidential cover and reach the CA at the following address. Please submit an electronic copy and two printed copies.

    Office of the Communications Authority
    29/F, Wu Chung House
    213, Queen's Road East
    Wanchai
    Hong Kong
    (Attn.: Head, Regulatory 2)

    Email :

    Landing of Cables at Existing CLS

  11. Shared use of the existing CLS is permitted subject to the terms and conditions of the land grant, lease conditions and relevant statutory requirements. At present, space is available in some of the existing CLS for landing of new submarine cables. Interested parties may approach OFCA for more details and should directly negotiate with the CLS operators concerned for using the space and facilities. OFCA would provide assistance to facilitate their negotiations if the situation warrants.

    Land and Facilities for Setting up New CLS

  12. Vacant land at the Chung Hom Kok Teleport site has been set aside for the development of external telecommunications stations (see remark 2). Cable landing facilities at the Tseung Kwan O Industrial Estate may also be made available subject to the approval of the Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation ("HKSTP").
  13. Interested parties who wish to apply for use of the above-mentioned land or facilities to set up new CLS may contact OFCA (see paragraphs 2, 16 and 17 about the single-point-of-contact service offered by OFCA). Alternatively, they may also submit their applications direct to the Lands Department (for land at the Chung Hom Kok Teleport site) or the HKSTP (for cable landing facilities at the Tseung Kwan O Industrial Estate). The contact information of the Lands Department and HKSTP is as follows:
    District Lands Office / Hong Kong West and South
    Lands Department
    Address : 20/F, Southorn Centre,
    130 Hennessy Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong
    Telephone : (852) 2835 1552
    Fax : (852) 2833 1945
    Email :
    Website : www.landsd.gov.hk
    Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation
    Address : 8/F, Bio-Informatics Centre,
    2 Science Park West Avenue,
    Hong Kong Science Park,
    Shatin, New Territories, Hong Kong
    Telephone : (852) 2629 1818
    Fax : (852) 2629 1833 / (852) 2664 2481
    Email :
    Website : www.hkstp.org

    Statutory Approvals for Laying of Submarine Cables and Landing at CLS

  14. There are established procedures and steps for obtaining approvals for laying submarine cables or building a new CLS. Details are given in the document "Information Note for External Fixed Carriers to Apply for Statutory Approvals for Laying of Submarine Cable and Landing at Cable Landing Station". Interested parties may make use of OFCA's single-point-of-contact service (see paragraphs 2, 16 and 17 below). They may also send their applications direct to the relevant authorities.

    Site Sharing and Co-location of CLS with ADC

  15. Sharing of existing CLS with ADC (see remark 3) to support the submarine cable business may be permitted subject to the terms and conditions of the land grant, lease conditions and relevant statutory requirements. In the event of competing demand for space in the existing CLS, priority will be given to expansion of the submarine cable systems already landed at the CLS and landing of new submarine cable systems.

    Single-Point-of-Contact Service

  16. As set out in paragraph 2, OFCA provides a single-point-of-contact service to assist interested parties in applying for use of land and cable landing facilities to set up new CLS and statutory approvals for laying submarine cables and landing at CLS.
  17. Applicants may submit their applications together with the supporting information to OFCA, which will provide a centralized contact point coordinating the applicants with the relevant government departments and parties, such as Lands Department, Marine Department, HKSTP, Town Planning Board and Environmental Protection Department. While OFCA will offer appropriate assistance to the applicants during the process, the applicants shall be responsible for their applications and securing the necessary statutory approvals. They should provide the relevant government departments and parties with necessary information in a timely manner, and comply with the procedures and requirements that are laid down by these government departments and parties.
  18. Submarine Cable Repair within the Hong Kong Waters

  19. There are procedures in applying for the necessary statutory approvals required by relevant government departments. Details are given in the document "Information Note on Applying for Required Government Permits/Approvals/Visas to Carry out Works Related to Submarine Cable Systems within Hong Kong Waters".

Remarks:

  1. Some of the existing fixed carrier licensees are also allowed to provide cable-based external fixed service. With the implementation of the UCL from 1 August 2008, the CA will no longer issue the fixed carrier licence and fixed telecommunications network services licence. New applicants are required to apply for the UCL (External) for the provision of cable-based external fixed service.
  2. One of the lots is used for CLS and another is used for satellite earth station. Some other lots are being used for non-telecommunications purpose on a temporary basis.
  3. ADC is a data centre which is mainly used to handle external traffic carried by the submarine cable systems landed at the relevant CLS.

概览

  1. 本网站向有兴趣将新的海底电缆(以下简称「海缆」)引入香港的人士提供相关的资料,涵盖的主要范围如下:
  2. 通讯事务管理局办公室(以下简称「通讯办」)提供综合联络服务,协助有兴趣人士获取为铺设海缆、海缆在现有登陆站登陆或兴建新登陆站而所需的法定许可。通讯办欢迎他们与以下负责人员联络:

    香港湾仔
    皇后大道东213号
    胡忠大厦29楼
    通讯事务管理局办公室
    (经办人:规管组12高级电讯工程师)

    电话 电话 : (852) 2961 6683
    传真 传真 : (852) 2591 0316
    电邮 电邮 :

    背景资料

  3. 自对外电讯设施市场于二零零零年一月一日开放以来,香港一直采取公开发牌制度,即通讯事务管理局(以下简称「通讯局」)发出的对外固定牌照数目不设上限,而香港也没有对持牌人施加任何外资拥有权限制。
  4. 截至二零一九年一月,香港有十一个海缆系统,即亚非欧1号光缆系统(Asia Africa Europe-1 / AAE-1)、亚美海底光缆系统(Asia-America Gateway Cable System / AAG)、亚太二号海缆(Asia Pacific Cable Network 2 / APCN-2)、APG光缆系统(Asia Pacific Gateway / APG)、亚洲快线海底光缆系统(Asia Submarine-Cable Express / ASE)、EAC-C2C光缆系统、FLAG光缆亚欧段(FLAG Europe Asia / FEA)、FLAG北亚光缆环系统(FLAG North Asia Loop / FNAL)/ REACH北亚光缆环系统(REACH North Asia Loop / RNAL)、亚欧三号海缆(Sea-Me-We 3 / SMW3)、东南亚日本海底光缆系统(South-East Asia Japan Cable System / SJC)和TGN亚洲区内海底光缆系统(TGN-Intra Asia Cable System / TGN-IA)。另有数个海缆系统正在规划中。
  5. 香港有八个登陆站(见下图),当中两个位于塘福,三个位于将军澳,其余三个位于深水湾、舂坎角和鹤咀。

    登陆站的地点

    登陆站的地点

                                                          图例:登陆站
  6. 有兴趣人士如拟提供电缆对外固定服务(见备注1),必须向通讯局取得综合传送者牌照(对外)。有关申请这类牌照的详情,请参阅《对外电缆营办商发牌安排资料便览》(只提供英文版本)。除了租用现有海缆的容量以提供服务外,综合传送者牌照(对外)持牌人(以下简称「营办商」)亦可选择其海缆在现有的或新兴建的登陆站登陆,藉以提供服务。现有登陆站营办商的联络资料如下:
    中国移动国际有限公司
    地址 : 香港新界葵涌葵昌路51号九龙贸易中心1座30楼
    电话 : (852) 3975 6790
    传真 : (852) 3188 1651
    电邮 :
    网站 : www.cmi.chinamobile.com
    FLAG Telecom Asia Limited
    地址 : 香港金钟道89号力宝中心第2座39楼3901-02室
    电话 : (852) 2848 0051
    传真 : (852) 2848 0081
    电邮 :
    网站 : www.globalcloudxchange.com
    GB21 (Hong Kong) Limited
    地址 : 香港舂坎角电讯港1154地段
    电话 : (65) 6838 3712
    传真 : (65) 6738 5549
    电邮 :
    NTT Com Asia Limited
    地址 : 香港新界将军澳工业邨骏光街6号
    电话 : (852) 3793 0149
    传真 : (852) 2918 0800
    电邮 :
    网站 : https://hello.global.ntt/
    国际环球通讯网络(香港)有限公司及香港国际电讯有限公司
    地址 : 香港九龙尖沙咀中间道10号国际电信大厦6楼
    电话 : (852) 2809 0288
    传真 : (852) 2962 5683
    电邮 :
    网站 : www.reach.com
    澳大利亚国际有限公司
    地址 : 香港湾仔告士打道3号电讯大厦19楼
    电话 : (65) 6270 1110
    传真 : (65) 6722 9888
    电邮 :
    网站 : www.telstraglobal.com
  7. 营办商在运作上或需建立一个环形网络将两个或以上登陆站连接,或将登陆站连接至其他地方的数据中心。营办商为连接各相关地点,有需要沿公用街道及在公用土地上安装和铺设电缆。他们可向获授权提供本地固定服务的综合传送者牌照持牌人和固定传送者牌照持牌人取得有关服务。他们亦可考虑向通讯局申请自行提供本身的基干设施。顾名思义,这些自行提供的本身设施不得提供予第三者使用。

  8. 下文提供有关申请综合传送者牌照(对外)、共用登陆站,以及铺设海缆和海缆在登陆站登陆所需法定许可的资料。

    综合传送者牌照(对外)的申请程序和要求

  9. 《对外电缆营办商发牌安排资料便览》(只提供英文版本)旨在协助有兴趣人士提交综合传送者牌照(对外)申请。有关便览简介申请程序、申请要求、概括的发牌准则及与申请有关的其他资料。通讯局每年发出牌照和处理申请的数目均没有设定上限。所有接获的申请均会受理。
  10. 申请书并无特定格式,封面注明机密,送交通讯局下列地址。请提交两份影印副本及一份电子副本。
    香港湾仔
    皇后大道东213号
    胡忠大厦29楼
    通讯事务管理局办公室
    (经办人:规管科主管2)

    电邮 :

    海缆在现有登陆站登陆

  11. 现有登陆站均容许共用,惟须符合批地条款及条件、契约条件和相关的法定要求。目前,部分现有登陆站内尚有空间可供新海缆登陆。有兴趣人士可向通讯办查询详情,并直接与有关的登陆站营办商就共用空间及设施事宜磋商。如有需要,通讯办会在磋商过程中提供协助。

    设立新登陆站的土地及设施

  12. 舂坎角电讯港的空置土地已预留作发展对外电讯站用途(见备注2)。若得到香港科技园公司的批准,位于将军澳工业邨的海缆登陆设施亦可供使用。
  13. 有兴趣申请使用上述土地或设施以设立新登陆站的人士,可与通讯办联络(有关通讯办提供的综合联络服务请参阅第2、16和17段)。另外,有兴趣申请使用舂坎角电讯港土地的人士可直接向地政总署提交申请;有兴趣申请使用将军澳工业邨海缆登陆设施的人士可直接向香港科技园公司提交申请。地政总署和香港科技园公司的联络资料载列如下:
    地政总署港岛西及南区地政处
    地址 : 香港湾仔轩尼诗道130号修顿中心20楼
    电话 : (852) 2835 1552
    传真 : (852) 2833 1945
    电邮 :
    网站 : http://www.landsd.gov.hk
    香港科技园公司
    地址 : 香港新界沙田香港科学园
    科技大道西2号生物资讯中心8楼
    电话 : (852) 2629 1818
    传真 : (852) 2629 1833 / (852) 2664 2481
    电邮 :
    网站 : http://www.hkstp.org

    铺设海缆和在登陆站登陆的法定许可

  14. 现时已有既定程序及步骤获取法定许可铺设海缆或兴建新登陆站,详情载于《就铺设海缆和在海缆登陆站登陆申请法定许可的对外固定传送者资料便览》(只提供英文版本)。有兴趣人士可使用通讯办的综合联络服务提交申请(请参阅第2、16和17段),也可将申请直接送交有关当局。

    共用登陆站和登陆站与附属数据中心的共置

  15. 附属数据中心(见备注3)或可获准共用部分现有的登陆站,藉以支援海缆业务,惟须符合批地的条款及条件、契约条件和相关的法定要求。当对现有登陆站的空间有求过于供的情况出现时,扩展目前已在登陆站登陆的海缆系统以及登陆新海缆系统等相关项目,将获优先处理。

    综合联络服务

  16. 正如第2段所述,通讯办提供综合联络服务,协助有兴趣人士申请使用土地和设施以设立新登陆站,及申请有关铺设海缆和在登陆站登陆的法定许可。
  17. 申请人可把申请书连同所需资料送交通讯办。通讯办会提供综合联络服务,为申请人与相关政府部门及团体(例如地政总署、海事处、香港科技园公司、城市规划委员会和环境保护署)协调。虽然通讯办会在申请过程中向申请人提供适当的协助,但他们仍须负责其申请和取得所需的法定许可,他们应向相关政府部门及团体适时提供所需资料,并遵照这些政府部门及团体所订立的程序和要求。
  18. 在香港水域维修海缆

  19. 现时已有既定程序申请相关政府部门所要求的法定许可,详情载于《在香港水域进行海缆相关工作时申请所需政府执照/许可/签证的资料便览》(只提供英文版本)

备注:

  1. 部分现有固定传送者牌照持牌人亦已获准提供电缆对外固定服务。随着综合传送者牌照于二零零八年八月一日起引入,通讯局不会再发出固定传送者牌照和固定电讯网络服务牌照。新申请人须申请综合传送者牌照(对外),以提供电缆对外固定服务。
  2. 其中一个地段用作登陆站,另一个地段用作星地面站,部分其他地段则暂作非电讯用途。
  3. 附属数据中心主要用作处理在有关的登陆站登陆的海缆系统所传送的对外通讯讯息。