With a view to encouraging operators to roll out optical fibre networks in remote areas in Hong Kong, the Chief Executive announced in the 2017 Policy Address that the Government would take the lead to provide operators with financial incentives in the form of subsidies to encourage the extension of optical fibre networks to villages in remote areas.

The subsidy scheme covers 235 villages across nine districts in the New Territories and outlying islands (namely North, Sai Kung, Tai Po, Sha Tin, Yuen Long, Tuen Mun, Tsuen Wan, Kwai Tsing and Islands). These 235 villages are grouped under six projects. In June 2019, OFCA issued tender documents to invite eligible fixed network operators (FNOs) to participate in the subsidy scheme.

The subsidy scheme will subsidise the selected FNOs to roll out lead-in connections to the vicinity of the entrances of the villages concerned. The subsidy scheme will also subsidise the roll-out of three submarine cables connecting Lamma Island from Hong Kong Island, Cheung Chau from Lantau Island and Peng Chau from Lantau Island respectively.

To introduce competition, the selected FNOs are required to open up at least half of the capacity of the subsidised network facilities for use by other FNOs for free.

DateTitle
10 June 2019 Tender Notice

为鼓励电讯商于香港的偏远地区铺设光纤网络,行政长官在2017年《施政报告》中宣布由政府牵头,透过资助形式,提供经济诱因,鼓励电讯商扩展光纤网络至位于偏远地区的乡村。

资助计划涵盖235 条乡村,分布于9个新界及离岛区内(包括北区、西贡、大埔、沙田、元朗、屯门、荃湾、葵青及离岛),而这235 条乡村会组合成6个投标项目。于2019年6月,通讯事务管理局办公室发出招标文件邀请合资格的固网商参与资助计划。

资助计划将会资助获选的固网商铺设连接线路至有关乡村的村口附近。资助计划亦将会资助铺设三条海底电缆,分别连接香港岛至南丫岛、大屿山至长洲,及大屿山至坪洲。

为引入市场竞争 ,获选的固网商须开放获资助铺设的网络设施至少一半的容量予其他固网商免费使用。

日期题目
2019年6月10日 招标公告