To meet the demand for high-speed broadband services in remote areas in Hong Kong, the Government adopts a policy initiative to provide telecommunications companies with financial incentives in the form of subsidies to encourage the extension of fibre-based networks to villages in remote areas. The Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA) supports the Government in implementing the policy initiative through administering a subsidy scheme (Subsidy Scheme) to select fixed network operators (FNOs) to be granted with subsidies and monitor their implementation work to expand their network coverage to the villages concerned.


The Subsidy Scheme covers 235 villages across nine districts in the New Territories and outlying islands (namely North, Sai Kung, Tai Po, Sha Tin, Yuen Long, Tuen Mun, Tsuen Wan, Kwai Tsing and Islands). These 235 villages are grouped under six projects (i.e. Project 1 to Project 6) (see Figure 1).

List of villages covered under Projects 1 to 6

Figure 1


Benefits of implementing the Subsidy Schemeļ¼š

Progress of Implementation

Frequently Asked Questions