This information note serves to help consumers for an informed choice of legitimate Wi-Fi devices for use in Hong Kong.

New Wi-Fi 6E Devices

Wi-Fi devices are conventionally operating in the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands1 based on the IEEE 802.11 series of standards. In particular, those in compliance with the IEEE 802.11n, 802.11ac and 802.11ax standards are commonly known as Wi-Fi 4, Wi-Fi 5 and Wi-Fi 6 devices respectively. Recently, a new class of Wi-Fi devices, namely Wi-Fi 6E, generally emerges in the market. While Wi-Fi 6E is also based on the IEEE 802.11ax standard, it is capable of operating in a new frequency band of 5.925 – 7.125 GHz (“the 6 GHz band”) in addition to the conventional 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands. In this regard, consumers should note that only those Wi-Fi 6E devices operating within the lower part of the 6 GHz band (i.e. the 5.925 – 6.425 GHz band, hereinafter referred to as “the designated 6 GHz band”) are permitted for use in Hong Kong.

Licensing Requirements of Wi-Fi Devices

Persons who are in possession, use and sale of Wi-Fi devices operating in the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands are exempted from obtaining a telecommunications licence, subject to meeting the stipulated requirements under the law2. Pursuant to the Class Licence for 6 GHz Device (“the Device Class Licence”) created by the Communications Authority (“CA”), any person might also possess, use and sell Wi-Fi 6E devices operating within the designated 6 GHz band, subject to fulfilment of the conditions of the Device Class Licence. As far as users are concerned, the Device Class Licence for Wi-Fi 6E devices and licence-exemption for Wi-Fi devices achieve the same effect, i.e. users do not need to individually apply for a telecommunications licence and no licence fee would be incurred, for use of compliant Wi-Fi devices. The licensing requirements for Wi-Fi devices are summarised below -

2.4 GHz band 5 GHz bands 5.925 – 6.425 GHz
(the designated
6 GHz band)
6.425 – 7.125 GHz
Wi-Fi 4 exempted from licensing exempted from licensing frequency band not supported frequency band not supported
Wi-Fi 5 frequency band not supported exempted from licensing frequency band not supported frequency band not supported
Wi-Fi 6 exempted from licensing exempted from licensing frequency band not supported frequency band not supported
Wi-Fi 6E exempted from licensing exempted from licensing covered under the device class licence not permitted in hong kong

Legend:

blue tick Exempted from licensing
yellow tick Covered under the Device Class Licence
red cross Not permitted in Hong Kong
dash Frequency band not supported

Table 1: Licensing requirements of Wi-Fi devices in Hong Kong

Not All Wi-Fi 6E Devices are Permitted in Hong Kong

At present, some economies, including Canada and the United States, allow Wi-Fi 6E devices to operate in the entire 6 GHz band rather than limited to operate within the designated 6 GHz band. It should be noted that the CA is considering the identification of the upper part of the 6 GHz band, i.e. the 6.425 – 7.125 GHz band or parts thereof, for public mobile (including 5G) services. In this regard, Wi-Fi 6E devices capable of operating outside the designated 6 GHz band, i.e. in the 6.425 – 7.125 GHz band or parts thereof, are not covered by the Device Class Licence and are not permitted for use in Hong Kong to avoid radio interference with other radiocommunications services to be licensed in the future.

Certification and Labelling of Wi-Fi Devices

Wi-Fi devices generally fall under two categories – access points3 and client devices4. All Wi-Fi devices are required to comply with the technical specifications prescribed by the CA, in particular, they cannot operate in the 6.425 – 7.125 GHz band. Under the Device Class Licence, certification of Wi-Fi 6E access points against the relevant technical specifications and affixing the label prescribed by the CA (“CA label”) on certified Wi-Fi 6E access points offered for sale in Hong Kong are compulsory requirements. Such requirements aim to deter the supply and use of non-compliant Wi-Fi 6E access points, which may cause radio interference to other legitimate radiocommunications services in Hong Kong.

Since Wi-Fi 6E client devices generally operate under the control of and at lower power than access points, they are less likely to cause radio interference to other legitimate services. Thus, certification and labelling of Wi-Fi 6E client devices remains voluntary, following the same current practice for Wi-Fi 4, Wi-Fi 5 and Wi-Fi 6 devices.

Certification and Labelling of
Access Points
Certification and Labelling of
Client Devices
Wi-Fi 4, 5, 6 devices Voluntary Voluntary
Wi-Fi 6E devices
Compulsory
Voluntary

Table 2: Certification and labelling requirements of Wi-Fi devices

Look for the CA Label when Buying Wi-Fi 6E Access Points

Consumers shall purchase Wi-Fi 6E access points bearing the CA label either affixed on the device or its packing as per sample below.
ca label

On the other hand, as the certification and labelling of Wi-Fi 4, Wi-Fi 5 and Wi-Fi 6 devices (both access points and client devices) as well as Wi-Fi 6E client devices (not Wi-Fi 6E access points) are voluntary, such devices may or may not bear the CA label. Nevertheless, consumers are encouraged to purchase Wi-Fi devices which have been certified to comply with the relevant technical specifications and may therefore be used legally in Hong Kong. A list of certified equipment models is available on the OFCA website.

Do Not Bring Back Wi-Fi 6E Access Points from Overseas to Hong Kong

Consumers are strongly reminded not to bring back Wi-Fi 6E access points to Hong Kong from overseas (such as the United States and Canada), particularly those that operate in the 6.425 – 7.125 GHz band, and do not meet the technical specifications and requirements adopted in Hong Kong. Pursuant to the Telecommunications Ordinance (Cap. 106), possession or use of unauthorised radiocommunications equipment not meeting prescribed technical specifications and requirements will be liable to a maximum penalty of HK$50,000 fine and 2-year imprisonment.

本資料便覽旨在幫助消費者就香港合法使用的Wi-Fi器件作出明智選擇。

新Wi-Fi 6E器件

Wi-Fi器件通常是基於IEEE 802.11系列標準、在2.4吉赫和5吉赫頻帶1內操作。其中,符合IEEE 802.11n、802.11ac和802.11ax 標準的Wi-Fi器件,一般分別稱為Wi-Fi 4、Wi-Fi 5和Wi-Fi 6器件。最近,市場上逐漸有新型Wi-Fi器件面世,稱為Wi-Fi 6E器件。儘管Wi-Fi 6E器件也是基於IEEE 802.11ax標準,但除了傳統的 2.4吉赫和 5吉赫頻帶外,有關器件還可以在 5.925 – 7.125吉赫(「6吉赫頻帶」)這個新頻帶內操作。關於這點,消費者應留意只有在 6 吉赫頻帶的下半部分(即 5.925 – 6.425吉赫頻帶,以下簡稱「指定的6吉赫頻帶」)內操作的 Wi-Fi 6E器件方可在香港使用。

Wi-Fi器件的發牌規定

在符合法定要求2的情況下,管有、使用和售賣在2.4吉赫和5吉赫頻帶操作的Wi-Fi器件的人士可獲豁免領取電訊牌照。根據通訊事務管理局(「通訊局」)設立的6吉赫器件類別牌照(「器件類別牌照」),任何人士在符合該器件類別牌照條件的情況下,亦可管有、使用和售賣在指定的6吉赫頻帶內操作的Wi-Fi 6E器件。就用戶而言,器件類別牌照和豁免領牌的做法均可達到相同效果,即用戶無需就使用合規的Wi-Fi器件個別申領電訊牌照及繳交牌費。有關Wi-Fi器件的領牌規定概述如下:

2.4吉赫頻帶 5吉赫頻帶 5.925 – 6.425吉赫
(指定的6吉赫頻帶)
6.425 – 7.125吉赫
Wi-Fi 4 exempted from licensing exempted from licensing frequency band not supported frequency band not supported
Wi-Fi 5 frequency band not supported exempted from licensing frequency band not supported frequency band not supported
Wi-Fi 6 exempted from licensing exempted from licensing frequency band not supported frequency band not supported
Wi-Fi 6E exempted from licensing exempted from licensing covered under the device class licence not permitted in hong kong

圖例:

blue tick 豁免領牌
yellow tick 涵蓋於器件類別牌照
red cross 不得在香港使用
dash 不支援的頻帶

表1:Wi-Fi器件在香港的牌照規定

並非所有Wi-Fi 6E器件都獲准在香港使用

目前,一些經濟體系(包括美國和加拿大)容許Wi-Fi 6E器件在整條6吉赫頻帶內操作,而不限於在指定的6 吉赫頻帶內操作。惟須注意的是,通訊局正考慮將6吉赫頻帶的上半部分,即6.425 – 7.125吉赫頻帶或其中一部分選定用作公共流動(包括5G)服務。為此,器件類別牌照並不涵蓋那些能夠在指定的6吉赫頻帶以外(即6.425 – 7.125吉赫頻帶或其中一部分)操作的Wi-Fi 6E器件,故該等器件亦不可以在香港使用,以避免對將來獲發牌的其他無線電通訊服務造成無線電干擾。

Wi-Fi器件的驗證和標籤

Wi-Fi 器件一般分為兩類 — 接入點3和客戶端器件4。所有Wi-Fi器件均須符合通訊局訂明的技術規格,尤其不能在6.425 – 7.125吉赫頻帶內操作。根據器件類別牌照,Wi-Fi 6E接入點須按照相關技術規格進行驗證,以及在經驗證並於香港出售的Wi-Fi 6E接入點貼上通訊局訂明的標籤(「通訊局標籤」),而該等強制性規定旨在防止不合規的Wi-Fi 6E接入點的供應和使用,因為這些接入點可能會對香港其他合法的無線電通訊服務造成無線電干擾。

由於Wi-Fi 6E客戶端器件通常在接入點的控制下操作,而功率亦低於接入點,這些器件對其他合法服務造成無線電干擾的機會較低。因此,Wi-Fi 6E客戶端器件的驗證和標籤仍屬自願性質,與Wi-Fi 4 、Wi-Fi 5及Wi-Fi 6器件的現行做法相同。

接入點的驗證和標籤 客戶端器件的驗證和標籤
Wi-Fi 4、Wi-Fi 5 及Wi-Fi 6器件 自願性 自願性
Wi-Fi 6E器件
強制性
自願性

表2:Wi-Fi器件的驗證和標籤規定

選購貼有通訊局標籤的Wi-Fi 6E 接入點

消費者應選購在器件或其包裝上貼有通訊局標籤(如下圖所示)的Wi-Fi 6E接入點。
ca label

另一方面,由於Wi-Fi 4、Wi-Fi 5和Wi-Fi 6器件(包括接入點和客戶端器件)以及 Wi-Fi 6E客戶端器件(不包括Wi-Fi 6E 接入點)的驗證和標籤均屬自願性質,此類器件或未貼有通訊局標籤。無論如何,我們鼓勵消費者購買經驗證符合相關技術規格,以及可在香港合法使用的 Wi-Fi器件。消費者可從通訊辦網站查閱經驗證的器材清單。

切勿從海外攜帶Wi-Fi 6E接入點回港

我們強烈提醒消費者切勿從海外(如美國及加拿大)攜帶Wi-Fi 6E接入點回港,尤其是那些可在6.425 – 7.125吉赫頻帶操作,並不符合香港採納的技術規格和要求的Wi-Fi 6E接入點。依據《電訊條例》(第 106 章)的規定,管有或使用不符合訂明技術規格和要求的未經授權無線電通訊器材,最高可處罰款港幣50,000元及監禁兩年。