Operators in Hong Kong have launched 5G services since April 2020. In order to fully enjoy the benefits brought about by 5G services, mobile users need to use suitable 5G handsets. Here are some tips on how to select a suitable 5G handset.

Support for 5G services in Hong Kong

5G handset models available in the market (especially those on sale in overseas markets or overseas online shops) may not support all the technical features and functionalities of the local 5G networks and services in Hong Kong (such as the function for receiving emergency messages disseminated through the Emergency Alert Systems of mobile network operators). Before purchasing a 5G handset, in particular from shops (including online shops) outside Hong Kong, you are advised to carefully read the product information provided for the handset and check with the seller if necessary to ensure that the model of 5G handset you are interested in supports 5G services in Hong Kong, including all the features and functionalities that you would use.

Support for 5G Frequency Bands in Hong Kong

In Hong Kong, operators deploys spectrum in various 5G new radio (NR) frequency bands for the provision of 5G services. The NR bands which are extensively used by one or more local operators for providing 5G services include –

NR Bands Frequency Bands Duplex Mode
n1 1.9 – 2.2 GHz band Frequency-division duplexing
n78 3.3 GHz and 3.5 GHz bands Time-division duplexing
n79 4.9 GHz band Time-division duplexing

Before purchasing a 5G handset, you are advised to check and make sure that the 5G handset supports the relevant NR bands deployed by your service provider in Hong Kong.

Operators may deploy spectrum in more frequency bands in future for the provision of 5G services (a list of frequency bands currently assigned for the provision of mobile services in Hong Kong can be found at this webpage). Besides, new spectrum in other NR bands, such as 600 MHz band (n71) and 700 MHz band (n28), will be released to the market through auction to be conducted later this year. Users should consider purchasing 5G handsets that support frequency bands that are being deployed by local mobile network operators for access to 5G services in Hong Kong, and/or for access to 5G services when travelling to other places where 5G services are provided at similar frequency bands.

5G Handsets Supporting Use of More Than One SIM Cards

Some 5G handsets support installation of more than one SIM card, which may be eSIM or physical SIM cards. When considering purchase of such 5G handsets, you are advised to check whether all the SIM cards installed for use with a particular handset can be active at the same time, allowing you to receive calls to the telephone number of any of the SIM cards installed in your handset. It is also advisable to find out whether all the SIM card slots can support 5G connectivity at the same time or whether there would be limitations of 5G communications when all the SIM cards installed are active.

Wi-Fi Standards Supported

Apart from 5G connectivity, 5G handsets in general support Wi-Fi connectivity, enabling the users to have data communications through Wi-Fi at places like home, office or public places where Wi-Fi is available. Like mobile technologies, Wi-Fi technologies are evolving. If you want to enjoy the benefits brought by a more advanced version of Wi-Fi standard (such as Wi-Fi 6 based on the IEEE 802.11ax standard), you need to make sure that both your handset and Wi-Fi router support the advanced version of Wi-Fi standard.

Support for Reception of Emergency Alert System (EAS) Messages

You are advised to select 5G handsets that support reception of EAS messages so that you are able to receive important real-time messages disseminated by the Government through EAS during emergency situations. Further information about the EAS can be found at the thematic webpage. You may also refer to a list of the brands and models of mobile devices that support reception of EAS messages, compiled based on information provided by the mobile device suppliers / manufacturers. If you have any questions about a handset's capability in receiving EAS messages, you may contact your mobile service provider or the relevant handset supplier / manufacturer.

Support for Mobile Applications

Individual mobile application (App) is not necessarily able to run on all mobile handsets. It quite depends on the operating system and version installed in the handsets. Before buying a 5G handset, you are advised to ascertain that the handset supports all the mobile Apps you intend to use.

 

Office of the Communications Authority
June 2021

香港的營辦商由二零二零年四月起已推出第五代流動(5G)服務。流動服務用戶如要充分體驗5G服務帶來的好處,便需使用合適的5G手機。以下有一些關於如何選擇合適5G手機的貼士。

對香港5G服務的支援

市場上可供選擇的5G手機型號(尤其是在海外市場或境外網店出售的型號)或未能支援香港本地5G網絡和服務的所有技術特性和功能(例如接收經流動網絡營辦商的緊急警示系統發送緊急訊息的功能)。在購買5G手機(尤其是經香港境外商店(包括網店)選購)前,應細閱手機的產品資訊,並在有需要時向銷售商查詢,以確保你有意購買的5G手機型號支援香港的5G服務,包括所有你會使用的產品特性和功能。

對香港5G頻帶的支援

在香港,營辦商使用多條5G新無線電(NR)頻帶內的頻譜,以提供5G服務。目前有一家或以上本地營辦商廣泛用作提供5G服務的 NR頻帶包括:

NR 頻帶 頻段 雙工模式
n1 1.9 – 2.2 GHz 頻帶 頻分雙工(FDD)
n78 3.3 GHz 及 3.5 GHz 頻帶 時分雙工(TDD)
n79 4.9 GHz 頻帶 時分雙工

在購買5G手機前,請先查詢和確定有關5G手機是否支援你的服務供應商在香港使用的相關NR頻帶。

營辦商日後或會使用更多不同頻帶的頻譜提供5G服務(現時獲指配在香港提供流動服務的頻帶名單載於以下網址)。此外,在其他NR頻帶(例如600 MHz頻帶(n71)和700 MHz頻帶(n28))內的新頻譜,將於本年稍後以拍賣的方式推出市場。用戶應考慮購買可支援本地流動網絡營辦商所使用頻帶的5G手機,以便使用香港的5G服務及/或在外遊時使用當地相類頻帶所提供的5G服務。

可用多張電話智能卡(SIM卡)的5G手機

部分5G手機可放置多於一張SIM卡,而有關的SIM卡可以是嵌入式SIM卡(eSIM)或實體SIM卡。在考慮購買此類5G手機前,你應確定是否所有放置在有關手機使用的SIM卡均能同時啟動,讓你可接聽撥打至任何一張SIM卡電話號碼的來電。你亦應了解手機的所有SIM卡卡槽是否可同時支援5G網絡連接;或者在所有裝置於手機內的SIM卡均處於啟動狀態時,手機的5G通訊是否會受到限制。

支援的Wi-Fi標準

除5G網絡連接外,5G手機亦普遍支援無線區域網絡(Wi-Fi)連接,讓用戶可在家居、辦公室或設有Wi-Fi的公共場所等地方,透過Wi-Fi進行數據通訊。Wi-Fi技術就如流動服務技術一樣不斷在發展,如要體驗較先進的Wi-Fi標準(例如基於IEEE 802.11ax標準的Wi-Fi 6)所帶來的好處,便須確保你的手機和Wi-Fi路由器均支援有關進階版的Wi-Fi標準。

對接收緊急警示系統訊息的支援

在選購5G手機時,宜選擇可支援接收緊急警示系統訊息的型號,以便接收政府在緊急情況下透過緊急警示系統發送的重要實時訊息。有關緊急警示系統的更多資料,可在其專題網頁找到。你亦可參閱有關支援接收緊急警示系統訊息的流動裝置品牌及型號名單,相關資訊由流動裝置供應商/製造商提供的資料編製而成。如你對手機接收緊急警示系統訊息的功能有任何疑問,可聯絡你的流動服務供應商或相關手機供應商/製造商。

對流動應用程式的支援

個別流動應用程式(App)未必能在所有手機上運作,需視乎手機所安裝的操作系統(OS)及系統版本而定。在購買5G手機前,你應事先確定該手機是否支援所有你計劃使用的流動應用程式。

 

通訊事務管理局辦公室
二零二一年六月