With a view to safeguarding the integrity of telecommunication services and the security of communications networks, in recent years the Office of the Communications Authority (“OFCA”) has been adopting a multi-pronged approach in collaboration with law enforcement agencies to combat fraudulent calls.
Expand allCollapse all
Common Types of Fraudulent Calls

According to Police’s information, there are three major modi operandi of fraudulent calls:

(1) “Detained Son” : the fraudster would falsely claim that a relative or friend of the victim has been detained and demand a ransom for release of his/her relative or friend;
(2) “Guess Who” : the fraudster would falsely claim to be a relative or friend of the victim, inducing him/her to believe in the alleged identity of the fraudster for further deception; and
(3) “Pretend Officials” : the fraudster would play a voice recording purporting to be from the staff of Government departments/authorities, logistics companies or other public or private organisations, alleging that the victim or the service used by him/her has been involved in criminal cases, and getting his/her trust and personal information through deceit to commit further deception.

Moreover, in order to reduce the alertness of the victim so as to gain his/her trust, a fraudster may make use of caller identity spoofing to change or falsify the caller identity, pretending that the call is made from a local phone number (e.g. using telephone number of a hotline centre prefixed with Hong Kong area code “852”) and tricking the victim into believing that the call is made from an official authority.

Staying Alert to and Identification of Suspicious Calls

Insertion of “+” sign in the calling number display to help identify telephone calls originated from outside Hong Kong

According to the Police, phone scams involving caller identify spoofing originate from outside Hong Kong. To help members of the public identify the origin of suspicious incoming external calls, OFCA has since August 2015 required telecommunications operators to insert a “+” sign in the calling number display of mobile phones for all incoming calls originating from outside Hong Kong. Members of the public are advised to stay vigilant and be prudent upon receipt of calls from numbers prefixed with a “+” sign (e.g. “+852”) for possible spoofed caller identity. For more information about the abovementioned measure, please visit the following webpage:
https://www.ofca.gov.hk/en/consumer_focus/guide/general/telephone_scams/index.html.

Alerts for suspicious calls originated from outside Hong Kong

To raise users’ awareness on suspicious calls originated from outside Hong Kong (particularly incoming external calls containing “+852” as a prefix), some telecommunications operators are offering value-added services (VAS) which will give alerts to users, through text or voice messages, upon identification of such calls by the network and before the calls are answered (i.e. incoming calls are still awaiting connection) that such incoming calls originate from outside Hong Kong. Users are advised to pay more attention to these alerts in considering whether or not to answer such calls.

Incoming call filtering service

Some telecommunications operators also offer call filtering VAS (service may be subject to additional charge; some of the VAS may have associated mobile apps to assist users’ management and configuration of the VAS). Users subscribing to these VAS may be able to personalise their own black and/or white lists or use the pre-set lists provided by the operators for filtering all of their incoming calls, including anonymous calls, to minimise suspicious and nuisance calls. For more information about the mobile apps and VAS, please visit the following websites or contact the relevant operators:

Operators Mobile Apps / VAS Website
CSL Mobile Limited Call Filtering Service csl.'s customer:
https://www.hkcsl.com/en/call-filtering-service

1010's customer:
https://www.1010.com.hk/call_filtering_service
Hutchison Telephone Company Limited Call Block https://web.three.com.hk/vas/callblock/index-en.html
SmarTone Communications Limited Call Guard https://www.smartone.com/en/value_added_services/cyber-security/call_guard/service.jsp

In addition, mobile apps provided by third party software developers are available on the market offering similar call filtering functions (users may be required to view advertisements or pay additional charge to use the apps). These mobile apps would in general help users identify and filter incoming calls based on the databases established by public and/or users’ personalised black/white lists. Users should pay attention whether the mobile apps are reputable and offer the functionality they need before installing these mobile apps.

Do not simply rely on the calling number to determine one’s identity

With OFCA’s coordination, telecommunications operators have enhanced their network management to implement identification and blocking of suspicious calls or suspension of telecommunications services of phone numbers concerned. Nonetheless, the public should not simply rely on the calling number to determine one’s identity, and should always stay vigilant to avoid deception.

Anti-Deception Coordination Centre (ADCC) and “Scameter” provided by the Police

ADCC

To step up combat actions against deception and increase public awareness of various kinds of scams, the Police has set up ADCC with a view to consolidating all the relevant efforts of the Police in fighting and preventing such crime. ADCC operates an all-day enquiry hotline “Anti-Scam Helpline 18222” to provide immediate consultation for the general public in order to handle suspicious deception cases in a more effective manner. ADCC has also launched a subscription service viz. “Scam Alert Subscription” on its website to enable the public to receive new scam alerts by email, with a view to enhancing the public's anti-deception awareness. For more information about ADCC, please visit the following webpage:
https://www.adcc.gov.hk/en-hk/home.html

Scameter

The Police has launched a one-stop search engine called “Scameter” to help the public identify frauds and online pitfalls. When the public encounters suspicious calls, online sellers, friend requests, job advertisements, investment websites, and the like, they can enter the account name or number, payment account, phone number, email address, URL, etc. of the relevant platforms to assess the risk of fraud and cyber security. Based on the information provided to the “Scameter”, the search results will be indicated in different colours. Red represents “High risk”. Orange represents “Possible risk”. Yellow represents “Potential risk”. Purple means “No record”. For more information about “Scameter”, please visit the following webpage:
https://cyberdefender.hk/en-us/scameter/

Other consumer alerts

Reminder to members of the public on suspected fraudulent phone calls and scam emails purporting to be made or sent by the Communications Authority (CA) or OFCA

Furthermore, from time to time, OFCA receives reports from members of the public on various kinds of suspected fraudulent calls purporting to be made by the CA or OFCA. There are also reports of scam emails pretending to be sent by OFCA, inviting recipients to provide quotations for different kinds of goods/services.

We wish to stress that the CA and OFCA have never made/sent and will not make/send such calls/emails. For more information, please visit the following webpage:
https://www.ofca.gov.hk/en/consumer_focus/alerts/reminder_to_members_of_the_public_on_suspected_fra/index.html

In sum, members of the public should always stay vigilant when using communications services. Under no circumstances should personal information be disclosed to unidentified callers. If in doubt, hang up the phone immediately and report to the Police.

Reference Materials

通訊事務管理局辦公室(通訊辦)一直致力透過多管齊下的方式與執法機關攜手打擊詐騙電話,以保障電訊服務的健全及通訊網絡的安全。
全部展開全部折疊
常見的詐騙電話類型

根據警方資料,詐騙電話主要分為以下三種類型:

(1)「虛構綁架」 騙徒訛稱受害人的親友遭禁錮,欺騙受害人交付贖金後其親友才可脫身;
(2)「猜猜我是誰」 騙徒訛稱是受害人的親友,誘騙受害人相信其身分,繼而進行詐騙;及
(3)「假冒官員」 騙徒會透過播放錄音冒充政府/執法機關、物流公司或其他機構職員,訛稱受害人或其使用的服務干犯刑事罪行,騙取受害人的信任及其個人資料,繼而進行詐騙。

此外,騙徒為減低受害人的警覺性以博取其信任,或會通過更改「來電顯示」,偽冒電話是由本地電話號碼撥出(例如熱線中心的電話號碼,並於號碼前方加入香港區號「852」),混淆受害人以為是真正的官方單位致電。

慎防及識別可疑來電

以「+」號提示源自香港境外的來電

據警方表示,涉及更改來電顯示的電話騙案均源自香港境外。有見及此,通訊辦自2015年8月起,已要求本港電訊營辦商必須在「來電顯示」中加入「+」號,作為所有源自香港境外來電的字頭,以協助市民識別源自香港境外的可疑來電。市民如接到來電的電話號碼前方帶有「+」號(例如「+852」),應額外小心,提防來電者可能使用偽冒身分。有關上述措施的詳細資料,可參閱以下網址:
https://www.ofca.gov.hk/tc/consumer_focus/guide/general/telephone_scams/index.html

提示可疑境外來電

為提高用戶對可疑境外來電(尤其以「+852」開首的境外來電)的警覺性,個別電訊營辦商亦已推出增值服務,當網絡偵測到這些可疑來電,而用戶尚未接聽該來電之前(即來電仍處於等候接駁通話期間),將以文字訊息或話音提示等方式,提醒用戶有關來電為境外電話。用戶應多加留意這些提示,慎重選擇是否接聽相關來電

來電過濾服務

個別電訊營辦商亦提供來電過濾增值服務(服務或需額外收費;個別增值服務或另附設流動應用程式協助用戶管理和設定該增值服務),讓用戶自訂或選擇營辦商預設的來電「黑名單」及/或「白名單」,對所有來電包括匿名來電(即停止示號的來電)進行過濾,以進一步減少可疑來電和電話滋擾。有關應用程式及增值服務可參閱以下網址或聯絡相關營辦商查詢:

營辦商 應用程式/增值服務名稱 網址
香港移動通訊有限公司 來電過濾服務 csl. 客戶:
https://www.hkcsl.com/tc/call-filtering-service

1010客戶:
https://www.1010.com.hk/tc/call_filtering_service
和記電話有限公司 Call Block https://web.three.com.hk/vas/callblock/index.html
數碼通電訊有限公司 來電管家 https://www.smartone.com/tc/value_added_services/cyber-security/call_guard/service.jsp

除此以外,市面上也有不少由第三方軟件開發商提供類似的流動應用程式(使用個別流動應用程式或需收看廣告或額外收費)。這些流動應用程式一般會按坊間的號碼資料庫及/或用戶自訂的黑/白名單,協助使用者分辨及過濾來電。使用者在選擇安裝上述應用程式前,需留意其信譽是否良好和功能是否切合需要。

不應只是依賴來電號碼辨識來電者身分

在通訊辦的協調下,電訊營辦商亦已加強網絡管理,識別和堵截可疑電話號碼或暫停相關號碼的電訊服務。儘管如此,市民不應只是依賴來電號碼辨識來電者身分,而是要時刻警惕,避免受騙

警方「反詐騙協調中心」及「防騙視伏器」

「反詐騙協調中心」

為加強打擊詐騙案力度及提高市民對各類型騙案的認知以防受騙,警方已成立「反詐騙協調中心」,協調警隊打擊及預防詐騙工作。「反詐騙協調中心」已設立一條二十四小時電話諮詢熱線「防騙易18222」,為市民提供即時諮詢,以便更有效處理懷疑騙案。其網站亦已推出「騙案警示訂閱功能」,方便市民以電郵形式接收最新的騙案警示信息,以進一步提高市民的防騙意識。有關「反詐騙協調中心」的詳細資料,可參閱以下網址:
https://www.adcc.gov.hk/zh-hk/home.html

「防騙視伏器」

警方已推出一站式詐騙陷阱搜尋器「防騙視伏器」,協助公眾辨識詐騙及網絡陷阱。市民如遇到可疑來電、網購賣家、交友邀請、招聘廣告、投資網站,均可在「防騙視伏器」輸入相關平台帳戶名稱或號碼、收款帳戶、電話號碼、電郵地址、網址等,以評估詐騙及網絡安全風險。市民於「防騙視伏器」輸入資料後,搜尋結果會以不同顏色警示,紅色代表「高危有伏」、橙色代表「疑似有伏」、黃色代表「可能有伏」,而紫色則代表「未有記錄」。有關警方設立「防騙視伏器」的詳細資料,可參閱以下網址:
https://cyberdefender.hk/scameter/

其他消費者注意事項

市民應慎防聲稱由通訊事務管理局(通訊局)或通訊辦打出或發出的懷疑詐騙電話及電郵

另外,通訊辦不時接獲市民舉報,表示收到聲稱由通訊局或通訊辦撥出的各類懷疑詐騙電話或收到冒認通訊辦發出的詐騙電郵,要求收件人就不同種類的貨物/服務提交報價。

我們特此聲明,通訊局及通訊辦從未亦不會撥出 / 發出該類電話 / 電郵。如需更多資料,可參閱以下網址:
https://www.ofca.gov.hk/tc/consumer_focus/alerts/reminder_to_members_of_the_public_on_suspected_fra/index.html

總括而言,市民使用通訊服務時,應時刻保持警覺。在任何情況下,不應向身分未經核實的來電者透露個人資料。如有懷疑,應立即終止電話對話及向警方舉報。

參考資料